RESOURCE CENTRAL

Neurology Now
May/June 2010
Volume 6(3)
p 37–39
Back to top

Migraine Resources and Research

The Migraine Research Foundation provides funding to researchers who are studying the causes and treatments of migraines. President Cathy Glaser founded the non-profit five years ago with her husband, Stephen Semlitz, after watching their daughter Samantha cope with debilitating migraines, which began when she was just 3 years old. The Glasers hope to redress the lack of funding for migraine research.

FIGURE. CHRISTOPHER BARR

Click here to enlarge

“I believe we will see individualized migraine medications available in the future,” Glaser says. Her foundation is currently funding research exploring genetic factors for cardiovascular risk in women with migraines and the development of improved preventive migraine treatments.

The Foundation offers a Facebook support group for migraine sufferers, a list of doctors certified in headache medicine, and a list of headache centers for both adults and children. Visit migraineresearchfoundation.org .

Other organizations that provide support for people with migraine and other headaches include:

American Headache Society Committee for Headache Education (ACHE) achenet.org 856-423-0043

American Pain Foundation painfoundation.org 888-615-PAIN (7246)

National Headache Foundation headaches.org 312-274-2650 or 888-NHF-5552 (643–5552)

For More on Migraine

▸ patients.aan.com (click on “migraine” and “headache” on the list of conditions.)

Migraine and Other Headaches, by William B. Young, M.D., and Stephen D. Silberstein, M.D (ISBN: 978-1-932603-14-9; published 2006; 256 pages; $19.95), from the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) and published by Demos Health, can be ordered at aan.com/store or purchased from Barnes & Noble, Borders, Amazon, or your local independent bookseller.

▸ “Migraine frequency and risk of cardiovascular disease in women,” by Eve Klein, M.D. and David Spencer, M.D. This “Patient Page” of the AAN's journal Neurology, originally published in August 2009, is available at tinyurl.com/http-patientpages-com .

Assistance Directory

For a full listing of patient organizations, go to neurologynow.com

HELP FOR ALL NEUROLOGICAL DISORDERS

American Academy of Neurology Foundation aan.com/patients

AAN Website (For doctors, patients, and caregivers) aan.com

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke ninds.nih.gov

Well Spouse Association wellspouse.org 1-800-838-0879

ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE

Alzheimer's Association alz.org 1-800-272-3900

Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center alzheimers.org 1-800-438-4380

Alzheimer's Foundation of America alzfdn.org 1-866-232-8484

Association for Frontotemporal Dementias FTD-Picks.org 1-866-507-7222

AUTISM

Autism Society of America autism-society.org 1-800-3AUTISM (1-800-328-8476)

Autism Speaks, Inc. autismspeaks.org 212-252-8584

Global and Regional Asperger Syndrome Partnership grasp.org 1-888-474-7277

BRAIN TUMOR

American Brain Tumor Association abta.org 1-800-886-2282

National Brain Tumor Society Braintumor.org 1-800-934-2873

CEREBRAL PALSY

United Cerebral Palsy ucp.org 1-800-872-5827

DYSTONIA

Dystonia Foundation dystonia-foundation.org 1-800-377-DYST (1-800-377-3978)

Spasmodic Torticollis spasmodictorticollis.org 1-888-445-4588

EPILEPSY AND SEIZURES

Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy (CURE) CUREepilepsy.org 312-255-1801

Epilepsy Foundation epilepsyfoundation.org 1-800-332-1000

HUNTINGTON'S DISEASE

Hereditary Disease Foundation hdfoundation.org 212-928-2121

Huntington's Disease Society of America hdsa.org 1-800-345-HDSA (1-800-345-4372)

HYDROCEPHALUS

Hydrocephalus Association hydroassoc.org ; 1-888-598-3789

National Hydrocephalus Foundation nhfonline.org 1-888-857-3434

MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS

MSFriends msfriends.org 1-877-MSFRIENDS

MSWorld msworld.org

Multiple Sclerosis Association of America msassociation.org , 1-800-532-7667

Multiple Sclerosis Foundation msfocus.org 1-800-225-6495

National Multiple Sclerosis Society nationalmssociety.org 1-800-FIGHT-MS (1-800-344-4867)

MYASTHENIA GRAVIS

Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America myasthenia.org 1-800-541-5454

NEUROMUSCULAR DISEASES

ALS Association alsa.org 1-800-782-4747

Charcot-Marie-Tooth Association charcot-marie-tooth.org 610-499-92641-800-606-CMTA (2682)

Kennedy's Disease Association kennedysdisease.org 559-658-5950

Moebius Syndrome Foundation moebiussyndrome.com 1-660-834-3406

Muscular Dystrophy Association mda.org 1-800-FIGHT-MD (1-800-344-4863)

Neuropathy Association neuropathy.org ; 212-692-0662

Spastic Paraplegia Foundation, Inc. sp-foundation.org ; 1-877-773-4483

PARKINSON'S DISEASE & MOVEMENT DISORDERS

American Parkinson Disease Association apdaparkinson.org 1-800-223-2732

International Essential Tremor Foundation essentialtremor.org 1-888-387-3667

Lewy Body Dementia Association lbda.org

Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research michaeljfox.org ; 1-800-708-7644

National Ataxia Foundation ataxia.org 763-553-0020

National Parkinson Foundation parkinson.org 1-800-327-4545

Parkinson's Disease Foundation pdf.org 1-800-457-6676

Society for Progressive Supranuclear Palsy curepsp.org 1-800-457-4777

SLEEP

National Sleep Foundation sleepfoundation.org 202-347-3471

TOURETTE SYNDROME

Tourette Syndrome Association tsa-usa.org 718-224-2999

TRAUMA

Brain Injury Association of America biausa.org 1-800-444-6443

Stroke Organizations and Resources

ORGANIZATIONS:

National Aphasia Association aphasia.org 212-267-2814 or 800-922-4NAA (4622)

American Stroke Association: A Division of American Heart Association strokeassociation.org 1-888-4STROKE (478-7653)

Brain Aneurysm Foundation bafound.org 781-826-5556 or 888-BRAIN02 (272-4602)

Brain Attack Coalition stroke-site.org 301-496-5751

National Stroke Association stroke.org 303-649-9299 or 800-STROKES (787-6537)

Children's Hemiplegia and Stroke Assoc. (CHASA) chasa.org 817-492-4325

Hazel K. Goddess Fund for Stroke Research in Women thegoddessfund.org 212-713-6789

WEB SITES, BOOKS, AND ARTICLES:

▸ patients.aan.com (click on “stroke” on the list of conditions)

Stroke, by Louis R. Caplan, M.D. (ISBN: 978–1932603149; 2005; 256 pages; $19.95). Available at aan.com/store and other online and retail booksellers.

Back to top