RESOURCE CENTRAL

Neurology Now
March/April 2010
Volume 6(2)
p 36–38
Back to top

Good Night, and Good Luck

For more information on sleep and insomnia, check out these resources:

Figure. HOLGER WINKLER/CORBIS

Click here to enlarge

American Board of Sleep Medicine absm.org/BSMSpecialists.htm Go here for a list of certified behavioral sleep medicine specialists.

American Academy of Sleep Medicine aasmnet.org The Web site of this professional organization includes information for patients, a list of sleep centers, and more.

National Sleep Foundation sleepfoundation.org . This site provides a comprehensive look at sleep and sleep disorders.

Neurology Now neurologynow.com

For articles that we have published on this topic, go to our Web site and search for “sleep” and “insomnia.”

What Does Neuropathy Mean to You?

Upwards of 20 million have some form of peripheral neuropathy, but many people know very little about this pervasive disease. Everyone in the neuropathy community—patients, family members, friends, health care providers, professionals—must vocalize the impact of this underappreciated and often misunderstood illness.

Figure. No caption available.

Click here to enlarge

In observance of National Neuropathy Week, which takes place on May 17–21, 2010, the Neuropathy Association asked various community members to describe what neuropathy means to them:

OLIVIA WOLF (patient): “It took me a few years, but getting to the right diagnosis, finding a team of health care providers who specialized in neuropathy and my co-existing ailments, and speaking up about my neuropathy symptoms has helped me get back my life.”

THOMAS H. BRANNAGAN, III, M.D., (associate professor of clinical neurology and director, Neuropathy Association's Center of Excellence at Columbia University Medical Center): “The burden of neuropathy on the patients and their lives is immeasurable, and the treatment options few. I primarily see people with neuropathy and, like many of my peers, continuously look for ways to give them a chance to take back control of their lives by effectively managing their symptoms.”

DENNIS PAUL, PH.D. (researcher, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center): “My colleagues often ask me why I study the pain associated with neuropathy. If you've ever known someone who has constant, debilitating pain, you wouldn't have to ask that question.”

For more information, visit neuropathy.org .

Assistance Directory

For a full listing of patient organizations, go to neurologynow.com

HELP FOR ALL NEUROLOGICAL DISORDERS

American Academy of Neurology Foundation aan.com/go/foundation 1-800-879-1960

AAN Website (For doctors and patients) AAN.com

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke ninds.nih.gov

Well Spouse Association wellspouse.org 1-800-838-0879

ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE

Alzheimer's Association alz.org 1-800-272-3900

Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center alzheimers.org 1-800-438-4380

Alzheimer's Foundation of America alzfdn.org 1-866-232-8484

Association for Frontotemporal Dementias FTD-Picks.org 1-866-507-7222

AUTISM

Autism Society of America autism-society.org 1-800-3AUTISM (1-800-328-8476)

Autism Speaks, Inc. autismspeaks.org 212-252-8584

Global and Regional Asperger Syndrome Partnership grasp.org 1-888-474-7277

BRAIN TUMOR

American Brain Tumor Association abta.org 1-800-886-2282

National Brain Tumor Society Braintumor.org 1-800-934-2873

CEREBRAL PALSY

United Cerebral Palsy ucp.org 1-800-872-5827

DYSTONIA

Dystonia Foundation dystonia-foundation.org 1-800-377-DYST (1-800-377-3978)

Spasmodic Torticollis spasmodictorticollis.org 1-888-445-4588

EPILEPSY AND SEIZURES

Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy (CURE) CUREepilepsy.org 312-255-1801

Epilepsy Foundation epilepsyfoundation.org 1-800-332-1000

HEADACHE/MIGRAINE

National Headache Foundation headaches.org 1-888-NHF-5552 (1-888-643-5552)

Migraine Research Foundation migraineresearchfoundation.org 212-249-5402

HUNTINGTON'S DISEASE

Hereditary Disease Foundation hdfoundation.org 212-928-2121

Huntington's Disease Society of America hdsa.org 1-800-345-HDSA (1-800-345-4372)

HYDROCEPHALUS

Hydrocephalus Association hydroassoc.org ; 1-888-598-3789

National Hydrocephalus Foundation nhfonline.org 1-888-857-3434

MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS

MSFriends msfriends.org 1-877-MSFRIENDS

MSWorld msworld.org

Multiple Sclerosis Association of America msassociation.org , 1-800-532-7667

Multiple Sclerosis Foundation msfocus.org 1-800-225-6495

National Multiple Sclerosis Society nationalmssociety.org 1-800-FIGHT-MS (1-800-344-4867)

MYASTHENIA GRAVIS

Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America myasthenia.org ; 1-800-541-5454

NEUROMUSCULAR DISEASES

ALS Association alsa.org 1-800-782-4747

Charcot-Marie-Tooth Association charcot-marie-tooth.org 610-499-92641-800-606-CMTA (2682)

Kennedy's Disease Association kennedysdisease.org 559-658-5950

Moebius Syndrome Foundation moebiussyndrome.com 1-660-834-3406

Muscular Dystrophy Association mda.org 1-800-FIGHT-MD (1-800-344-4863)

Neuropathy Association neuropathy.org ; 212-692-0662

Spastic Paraplegia Foundation, Inc. sp-foundation.org ; 1-877-773-4483

PAIN

American Pain Foundation painfoundation.org 1-888-615-PAIN (1-888-615-7246)

PARKINSON'S DISEASE & MOVEMENT DISORDERS

American Parkinson Disease Association apdaparkinson.org 1-800-223-2732

International Essential Tremor Foundation essentialtremor.org 1-888-387-3667

Lewy Body Dementia Association lbda.org

Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research michaeljfox.org ; 1-800-708-7644

National Ataxia Foundation ataxia.org ; 763-553-0020

National Parkinson Foundation parkinson.org ; 1-800-327-4545

Parkinson's Disease Foundation pdf.org 1-800-457-6676

Society for Progressive Supranuclear Palsy curepsp.org 1-800-457-4777

SLEEP

National Sleep Foundation sleepfoundation.org 202-347-3471

STROKE

American Stroke Association strokeassociation.org 1-888-4-STROKE (1-888-478-7653)

National Stroke Association stroke.org 1-800-787-6537

TOURETTE SYNDROME

Tourette Syndrome Association tsa-usa.org 718-224-2999

TRAUMA

Brain Injury Association of America biausa.org 1-800-444-6443

Books About the Neuroscience of Learning

How Your Child Learns Best: Brain-Based Ways to Ignite Learning and Increase School Success. Judy Willis, M.D., M.Ed. Foreword by Goldie Hawn (Sourcebooks, 2008).

In Search of Memory: The Emergence of a New Science of Mind. Eric Kandel, M.D. (Norton, 2006).

Think Smart: A Neuroscientist's Prescription for Improving Your Brain's Performance. Richard Restak, M.D. (Riverhead, 2009).

Scientific Studies on the Neuroscience of Learning:

▸ O'Doherty, J. P. (2004, December). Reward representations and reward-related learning in the human brain: Insights from neuroimaging. Current Opinion in Neurobiology, 14:769–776.

▸ Wang, J., Rao., Wetmore, G., Furlan, P., Korczykowski, M., Dinges, D., & Detre, J. (2005). Perfusion functional MRI reveals cerebral blood flow pattern under psychological stress. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. 102(49): 17804–17809.

Back to top