RESOURCE CENTRAL

Neurology Now
January/February 2009
Volume 5(1)
p 36–38
Back to top

The Ketogenic Diet

To learn more about the ketogenic diet, check out these organizations and Web sites:

Figure. No caption available.

Click here to enlarge

Charlie Foundation charliefoundation.org

Epilepsy.com

epilepsy.com/epilepsy/treatment_ketogenic_diet

Epilepsy Foundation epilepsyfoundation.org/about/treatment/ketogenicdiet

Johns Hopkins Epilepsy Center neuro.jhmi.edu/Epilepsy/keto.html

Keto Kids Support Group health.groups.yahoo.com/group/ketokids

Ketogenic Diet Meal Planner brothersoft.com/ketogenic-diet-meal-planner-194147.html

Mayo Clinic mayoclinic.com/health/ketogenic-diet/AN01887

Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne, Australia rch.org.au/cep/treatments/index.cfm?doc_id=3313

Stanford University Medical Center stanford.edu/group/ketodiet

WebMD webmd.com/epilepsy/ketogenic-diet-for-epilepsy

Ongoing Ketogenic and Atkins Diet Clinical Trials

Ketogenic diet versus antiepileptic drug treatment in drug resistant epilepsy clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT00552526

Ketogenic diet for recurrent glioblastoma (ERGO) clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT00575146

Efficacy of modified ketogenic diet (Atkins) in management of epilepsy clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT00188500

Use of the Atkins diet for children with Sturge Weber syndrome clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT00639730

Internet administration of the modified Atkins diet for adults with intractable epilepsy clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT00436631

Assistance Directory

HELP FOR ALL NEUROLOGICAL DISORDERS

American Academy of Neurology Foundation neurofoundation.org 1-800-879-1960

The Brain MattersAAN patient website thebrainmatters.org

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke ninds.nih.gov

ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE

Alzheimer's Association alz.org 1-800-272-3900

Alzheimer's Disease Education and Referral Center alzheimers.org 1-800-438-4380

Alzheimer's Foundation of America alzfdn.org 1-866-232-8484

AUTISM

Autism Society of America autism-society.org 1-800-3AUTISM (1-800-328-8476)

Autism Speaks, Inc. autismspeaks.org 212-252-8584

BRAIN TUMOR

American Brain Tumor Association abta.org 800-886-2282

National Brain Tumor Society Braintumor.org 1-800-934-2873

CEREBRAL PALSY

United Cerebral Palsy ucp.org 1-800-872-5827

DYSTONIA

Benign Essential Blepharospasm Research Foundation, Inc. (BEBRF) blepharospasm.org 1-409-832-0788

Dystonia Foundation dystonia-foundation.org 1-800-377-DYST (1-800-377-3978)

National Spasmodic Dysphonia Association dysphonia.org 1-800-795-6732

Spasmodic Torticollis spasmodictorticollis.org 1-888-445-4588

Epilepsy AND SEIZURES

Citizens United for Research in Epilepsy (CURE) CUREepilepsy.org 312-255-1801

Epilepsy Foundation epilepsyfoundation.org 1-800-332-1000

Sturge-Weber Foundation sturge-weber.com 1-800-627-5482

Headache /Migraine

National Headache Foundation headaches.org 1-888-NHF-5552 (1-888-643-5552)

American Council for Headache Education achenet.org 1-856-423-0258

Migraine Research Foundation migraineresearchfoundation.org 212-249-5402

Huntington's Disease

Hereditary Disease Foundation hdfoundation.org 212-928-2121

Huntington's Disease Society of America hdsa.org 1-800-345-HDSA (1-800-345-4372)

HYDROCEPHALUS

Hydrocephalus Association hydroassoc.org 1-888-598-3789

National Hydrocephalus Foundation nhfonline.org 1-888-857-3434

MULTIPLE SCLEROSIS

MSFriends msfriends.org 1-877-MSFRIENDS

MSWorld msworld.org 1-877-MSSUPPORT (1-877-677-8776)

Multiple Sclerosis Association of America msassociation.org 1-800-532-7667

Multiple Sclerosis Foundation msfocus.org 1-800-225-6495

National Multiple Sclerosis Society nationalmssociety.org 1-800-FIGHT-MS (1-800-344-4867)

MYASTHENIA GRAVIS

Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America myasthenia.org 1-800-541-5454

NEUROMUSCULAR DISEASES

ALS Association alsa.org 1-800-782-4747

Moebius Syndrome Foundation moebiussyndrome.com 1-660-834-3406

Muscular Dystrophy Association mda.org 1-800-FIGHT-MD (1-800-344-4863)

Neuropathy Action Foundation neuropathyaction.org 1-877-512-7262

Neuropathy Association neuropathy.org 212-692-0662

Spastic Paraplegia Foundation, Inc. sp-foundation.org 1-877-773-4483

PAIN

American Pain Foundation painfoundation.org 1-888-615-PAIN (1-888-615-7246)

National Foundation for the Treatment of Pain paincare.org 713-862-9332

PARKINSON'S DISEASE & MOVEMENT DISORDERS

American Parkinson Disease Association apdaparkinson.org 1-800-223-2732

International Essential Tremor Foundation essentialtremor.org 1-888-387-3667

Lewy Body Dementia Association lbda.org

Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's Research michaeljfox.org 1-800-708-7644

National Ataxia Foundation ataxia.org 763-553-0020

National Parkinson Foundation parkinson.org 1-800-327-4545

Parkinson's Disease Foundation pdf.org 1-800-457-6676

Society for Progressive Supranuclear Palsy curepsp.org 1-800-457-4777

STROKE

American Stroke Association strokeassociation.org 1-888-4-STROKE (1-800-478-7653)

National Stroke Association stroke.org 1-800-STROKES (1-800-787-6563)

TRAUMA

Brain Injury Association of Americabiausa.org 1-800-444-6443

Brain Trauma Foundationbraintrauma.org 212-772-0608

National Spinal Cord Injury Association spinalcord.org 1-800-962-9629

SLEEP

Narcolepsy Network narcolepsynetwork.org 1-888-292-6522

National Sleep Foundation sleepfoundation.org 202-347-3471

Medical Billing

To learn more, start with a Web search of “medical billing advocate” and “medical billing review services.” The Medical Billing Advocates of America offers an online list of advocates by state and referrals at no charge at billadvocates.com . For further information about health-related financial and insurance issues, contact:

The Patient Advocate Foundation, a non-profit organization that serves as a liaison between patients and insurers, employers, or creditors in order to resolve insurance issues related to life-threatening or debilitating illness.

patientadvocate.org 1-800-532-5274

The State Health Insurance Assistance Program (SHIP), which offers free health insurance counseling to people with Medicare.

shiptalk.org 1-800-633-4227.

The Patient Friendly Billing® Project, a collaborative effort among several organizations—including the Healthcare Financial Management Association, American Hospital Association, Medical Group Management Association, as well as physicians and others—working to promote clear, accurate financial communications with patients.

hfma.org/library/revenue/patientfriendlybilling

Back to top