Now Accepting Applications for 2012 Scientific and Nonscientific Awards

August 19, 2011


The AAN is now accepting applications to recognize the next wave of bright minds and their remarkable accomplishments. The 2012 AAN Scientific and Non-Scientific Awards will be presented at the 64th AAN Annual Meeting in New Orleans. Learn more and apply now. Application Deadline: November 1, 2011

There are a number of awards available to suit your specialization, career stage, and interests:

Scientific Awards—Application Deadline: November 1, 2011

  • AAN Alliance Awards: Founders and S. Weir Mitchell
  • Dreifuss-Penry Epilepsy Award
  • John Dystel Prize for Multiple Sclerosis Research
  • Sheila Essey Award: An Award for ALS Research
  • Norman Geschwind Prize in Behavioral Neurology
  • Lawrence C. McHenry Award: An Award for the History of Neurology
  • Medical Student Essay Awards:
    • G. Milton Shy Award in Clinical Neurology
    • Saul R. Korey Award in Experimental Neurology
    • Roland P. Mackay Award in Historical Aspects
    • Extended Neuroscience Award
  • Movement Disorders Research Award
  • Neuroscience Research Prize
  • Neuroendocrine Research Award
  • Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership Prize
  • Mitchell B. Max Award for Neuropathic Pain
  • Potamkin Prize for Research in Pick's, Alzheimer's, and Related Diseases
  • Research Award in Geriatric Neurology
  • The Bruce S. Schoenberg International Award in Neuroepidemiology
  • Sleep Science Award
  • Jon Stolk Award in Movement Disorders for Young Investigators
  • Harold Wolff-John Graham Award: An Award for Headache/Facial Pain Research
  • Wayne A. Hening Sleep Award for Young Investigators

Nonscientific Awards—Application deadlines vary

  • Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Neurology Public Policy Fellowship—Deadline: October 15, 2011
  • NEW! Patient Safety Award—Deadline: November 1, 2011
  • Resident Scholarship to the Annual Meeting—Deadline: November 1, 2011
  • Program Directors Recognition Award—Deadline: November 1, 2011
  • International Scholarship Award—Deadline: November 1, 2011
  • Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Patient Advocate of the Year Award—Deadline: November 30, 2011
  • AAN Award for Creative Expression of Human Values in Neurology—Deadline: December 1, 2011
  • Minority Scholars Program—Deadline: December 1, 2011
  • H. Richard Tyler Award—Deadline: December 1, 2011
  • 2013 A.B. Baker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Neurologic Education—Deadline: January 31, 2012