Time is Running Out—Nominate an Extraordinary Advocate Today!

October 21, 2010


The deadline for nominations or applications for the coveted Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Patient Advocate of the Year Award is rapidly approaching on November 30. Any AAN member is eligible for this award, which recognizes one neurologist who exemplifies Viste's leadership and commitment to advocating for the patient community.

Earlier this year, during the AAN Annual Meeting in Toronto, Enawgaw Mehari, MD, was honored as the 2010 award recipient for his passion, dedication, and enthusiasm for patient advocacy on behalf of the people of Ethiopia. Through his organization, People to People Inc., Mehari has touched the lives of many Ethiopians by providing the education and infrastructure necessary for change.

Read more about Mehari's involvement in Ethiopia and his organization People to People, Inc.

The Viste Award, which is endowed by gifts from Viste's friends and colleagues, has honored several other powerful and determined advocates since it was founded in 2007. They include:

Any AAN member may nominate another AAN member or apply for this award. The award deadline is November 30, 2010. For more information, contact Derek Brandt at (651) 332-8666 or dbrandt@aan.com.