Nomination Period for 2010 Viste Advocate of the Year Opens

August 4, 2009


Throughout his distinguished career as a neurologist, Kenneth M. Viste, Jr.,  MD, worked tirelessly on behalf of his patients.  His commitment to improving the lives of others was without comparison. Viste had been President of the AAN, Chair of the Academy's Foundation, and President of the State Medical Society of Wisconsin. His successes were lauded by his peers and inspirational to his community.  The Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Patient Advocate of the Year Award recognizes one neurologist who shares these qualities and epitomizes the selfless art of working on behalf of the patient community.

Nominations for the 2010 award will be accepted until November 30, 2009. Individuals can either be nominated by an AAN member or apply with a letter of endorsement from another AAN member. The award, which includes a $1,000 honorarium, is sponsored by the AAN and its Foundation, and is endowed by gifts from Viste's friends and colleagues to the Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Leadership Fund.

Last year's winner, Richard S. Bedlack, MD, PhD, MSc, was honored during the 2009 AAN Annual Meeting in Seattle. Bedlack was recognized for his passion and dedication to patients with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).  As an advocacy leader, he has developed and expanded Duke University's ALS Clinic creating more opportunities for specialized patient care. Bedlack also led a national campaign to educate policymakers about importance of ALS research.

Nominate a colleague or apply for the 2010 Viste Advocate of the Year Award.

View past AAN award winners.

For more information, please contact Derek Brandt at or (651) 332-8666.