Sacco to Lead AHA

March 4, 2009


The American Heart Association has named Ralph L. Sacco, MD, MS, FAHA, FAAN, as president-elect for the 2009–2010 term. He will serve on the national Board of Directors for three years as President-Elect, President, and Immediate-Past President. He is the first neurologist to lead the AHA in its history.

Sacco is rotating off the Academy's Board of Directors in April after two two-year terms. He has served on numerous Academy committees and subcommittees, including the Governance and Environmental Scanning Subcommittees, and chaired the Clinical Research Subcommittee.

Now chairman of the department of neurology at the University of Miami Leonard M. Miller School of Medicine, Sacco was professor of neurology and epidemiology at the Neurological Institute of Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons, the Mailman School of Public Health, and the Sergievsky Center.  He was associate chair of neurology for Clinical Research and Training and Director of the Stroke and Critical Care Division, and an attending neurologist at the New York Presbyterian Hospital in New York City. 

Sacco is a noted stroke expert who pioneered research studies of strokes in Hispanics and improving stroke care delivery to high-risk disadvantaged populations.