2008 Palatucci Forum Welcomes 30 New Neurology Advocates

December 17, 2007


The Academy is honored to announce its class of Advocates for the 2008 Donald M. Palatucci Advocacy Leadership Forum, to be held January 10–13, 2008, at the St. Regis Hotel in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. This year's cohort represents 19 states in the US plus Australia and India:

  • Tamer Abdelhak, MD / West Bloomfield, Michigan
  • Zoe Arvanitakis, MD, MS / Chicago, Illinois
  • Angela Bates, MD / Dallas, Texas
  • Richard S. Bedlack, MD, PhD / Durham, North Carolina
  • Cynthia Bodkin, MD / St. Louis Park, Minnesota
  • Richard D. Brower, MD, FAAN / El Paso, Texas
  • Javier Cardenas, MD / Phoenix, Arizona
  • Larry Charleston, IV, MD / Houston, Texas
  • Zahid Cheema, MD / Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • Cynthia L. Comella, MD, FAAN / Chicago, Illinois
  • Farrah N. Daly, MD / Alexandria, Virginia
  • Corey R. Fehnel, MD / Boston, Massachusetts
  • David M. Ficker, MD / Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Robert C. Griggs, MD, FAAN / Rochester, New York
  • Sandra L. Helmers, MD, FAAN / Atlanta, Georgia
  • Daniel Kantor, MD / Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
  • Eugene May, MD, FAAN / Seattle, Washington
  • Teshamae Monteith, MD / New York, New York
  • Karen J. Pentella, MD / Saint Louis, Missouri
  • Meril S. Platzer, MD / Agoura Hills, California
  • Marcus Ponce De Leon, MD / El Paso, Texas
  • Daniel C. Potts, MD / Tuscaloosa, Alabama
  • Tarakad S. Ramachandran, MD, FAAN / Jamesville, New York
  • Rosario Maria S. Riel-Romero, MD / Shreveport, Louisiana
  • James K. Sheffield, MD / Houston, Texas
  • Mamta Bhushan Singh, MBBS, MD, DM / New Delhi, India
  • Anand Girish Vaishnav, MD / Lexington, Kentucky
  • Tissa Wijeratne, MD / Victoria, Australia
  • Alexander Zubkov, MD, PhD / Rochester, Minnesota

In addition, two Academy members will be recognized as co-recipients of the 2007 Advocate of the Year Award: John Booss, MD, FAAN and Robert Shapiro, MD. Booss focused his advocacy efforts on federal legislation to improve TBI and epilepsy care for returning veterans, while Shapiro convened a federal advocacy event to promote stronger NIH funding support for headache and migraine research.

For more information on the Palatucci Forum, contact Melissa Larson at mlarson@aan.com.