AAN Advocates Prepare to Visit Capitol Hill

April 15, 2013


AAN members will arrive in Washington, DC, to take part in the 11th annual Neurology on the Hill on Monday, April 22, 2013. This is one of the Academy’s signature advocacy events, and 145 neurologists representing 43 states, 130 congressional districts, and Washington, DC, will meet with 216 members of Congress to discuss the need for fair Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement to help prevent a shortage of neurologists available to care for people affected by neurologic disease.

On Monday morning, the advocates will be greeted with remarks from AAN President Timothy A. Pedley, MD, FAAN; Executive Director/CEO Catherine M. Rydell, CAE; and Elaine C. Jones, MD, FAAN, chair of the AAN Government Relations Committee. Then they will be briefed on major health care issues by several key Washington insiders:

  • Story Landis, MD, PhD, director of the National Institute for Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS), will provide an update on NIH/NINDS funding challenges and the neuroscience research horizon.
  • Mandy Cohen, MD, senior advisor to Marilyn Tavenner, acting administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, will address how CMS is working to implement the Affordable Care Act and the critical next steps as they pertain to physicians.
  • Leonard Marquez, director of government relations for the Association of American Medical Colleges, will outline threats to graduate medical education.

Also, Neil A. Busis, MD, FAAN, member of the AAN Board of Directors and Medical Economics and Management Committee, will discuss the ramifications of the 2013 NCS/EMG cuts.

Later on Monday, April 22, participants will receive training on advocacy issues and practice their group presentations to members of Congress from their states.

Tuesday morning will begin with an early breakfast before the advocates venture to Capitol Hill, where they will hear from members of Congress in the Senate Hart Building. From 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. they will make the rounds of their legislators’ offices to deliver the Academy’s message on fair reimbursement.

The Academy thanks these AAN members for representing their state and participating in Neurology on the Hill:

Michael W. Morse, MD Fayetteville AR
David Gloss, MD Phoenix AZ
Paul R. Kowalski, MD Peoria AZ
Douglas L. Shepard, MD Prescott AZ
Michael Stitzer, MD Flagstaff AZ
Angela Anagnos, MD Campbell CA
Jennifer R.L. Friedman, MD Del Mar CA
Ariele Lauren Greenfield, MD San Francisco CA
John David Hixson, MD San Francisco CA
Steven J. Holtz, MD, FAAN Oakland CA
Richard M. Lowenthal, MD, FAAN Ojai CA
Seema Nagpal, MD San Francisco CA
Erik Perkins, MD San Diego CA
Meril S. Platzer, MD Agoura Hills CA
Vijay Shanmugam, MD Lancaster CA
Tanya Warwick, MD Fresno CA
Bennett I. Machanic, MD, FAAN Denver CO
Julie Anne Parsons, MD Denver CO
Douglas Redosh, MD Golden CO
Nicholas Blondin, MD West Haven CT
Ashish L. Ranpura, MD, PhD Hamden CT
Forough Ghavami, MD Washington DC
Glenn D. Graham, MD, PhD, FAAN Washington  DC
Bibhuti Mishra, MD Washington DC
Godfrey Sears, PsyD Washington DC
Glen R. Finney, MD Gainesville FL
James N. Goldenberg, MD Lake Worth FL
Raghav Govindarajan, MD Ft. Lauderdale FL
Danita Jones, DO Riviera Beach FL
Aunali S. Khaku, MD Gainesville FL
Jorge L. Marcos, MD Coral Gables FL
Alexander J. Smirnoff, MD Lady Lake FL
Stanley J. Whitney, MD Tallahassee FL
Adam B. Edwards, MD Atlanta GA
Mark I. Harris, MD Sandy Springs GA
Mark A. Kozinn, MD, FAAN Atlanta GA
Alireza Noorian, MD Roswel GA
Todd J. Janus, PhD, MD, FAAN Des Moines IA
Michael J. Kitchell, MD Ames IA
Bradford Lynn Talcott, MD, PhD Ammon ID
Hsiong Chen, MD Woodstock IL
William C. Davison, MD, FAAN Wilmette IL
Andrew J. Gordon, MD Deerfield IL
Sarah Song, MD Chicago IL
Richard M. Tresley, MD Chicago IL
Rohit Das, MD Indianapolis IN
Jason Mackey, MD Indianapolis IN
Michael A. Sermersheim, MD Greenwood IN
Thomas R. Vidic, MD, FAAN Elkhart IN
Sean Gratton, MD Shawnee Mission KS
Dominic B. Fee, MD Lexington KY
Uma Menon, MD New Orleans LA
Seth Gale, MD Cambridge MA
Susan T. Herman, MD Milton MA
Anna D. Hohler, MD, FAAN Needham Heights MA
Alan H. Kurland, MD Sharon MA
Michael E. Markowski, DO Mashpee MA
Pushpa Narayanaswami, MBBS, MD, FAAN Chestnut Hill MA
Janice F. Wiesman, MD Marlborough MA
Niranjan N. Jani, MD Columbia MD
Eric M. Jeffries, MD Silver Spring MD
Peter A. Bridgman, MD Yarmouth ME
Patricia Locuratolo, MD, FAAN York ME
Bruce Sigsbee, MD, FAAN Rockport ME
Sylvia Anagnos, MD Clinton MI
Barry D. Johnson, MD Kingsford MI
Ramesh Madhavan, MD Troy MI
James Snyder, DO Clarkston MI
Bharat M. Tolia, MD, FAAN Orchard Lake MI
Jontel Monique Dansby, MD Eureka MO
Tammy Hennika, MD Kansas City MO
Raman K. Malhotra, MD Saint Louis MO
Syeda Laila Alqadri, MD Ridgeland MS
David N. McCollum, MD Ocean Springs MS
Diane E. Ross, MD Gulfport MS
Richard Earl Popwell, Jr., MD Bozeman MT
Thomas Swanson, MD Missoula MT
Urvi G. Desai, MD Charlotte NC
Ana C. Felix, MD Chapel Hill NC
Alan G. Finkel, MD, FAAN, FAHS Chapel Hill NC
Michael J. Kushner, MD, FAAN Wilson NC
Gaurang M. Palikh, MD Shelby NC
Bradley V. Vaughn, MD, FAAN  Chapel Hill NC
John F. Aita, MD Omaha NE
Bernadette A. Hughes, MD, FAAN Omaha NE
Charles Guardia III, MD Lebanon NH
Erik J. Kobylarz, MD, PhD Lebanon NH
Steven M. Lomazow, MD West Orange NJ
Bruce T. Monastersky, MD Toms River NJ
Nancy L. Mueller, MD Tenafly NJ
Dipak Pandya, MD Edison NJ
Umang M. Shah, MD Clementon NJ
Shanker N. Dixit, MD Las Vegas NV
Clara Boyd, MD New York NY
John A. Ferro, MD, MS Congers NY
Edward J. Fine, MD, FAAN East Amherst NY
Nicholas Elwood Johnson, MD Rochester NY
Timothy A. Pedley, MD, FAAN Rye NY
Stanley Penc, MD, PhD Slingerlands NY
Tarakad S. Ramachandran, MD, FAAN Jamesville NY
Aamir Rasheed, MD Vestal NY
Lawrence M. Samkoff, MD, FAAN Rochester NY
Adam J. Schneider, MD Great Neck NY
Nilay R. Shah, MD New York NY
Brett M. Kissela, MD, FAAN Cincinnati OH
Chinasa Nwankwo, MD Cleveland OH
Reiner Henson Barrios See, MD Cleveland OH
John E. Cattaneo, MD Tulsa OK
Mark S. Yerby, MD, MPH, FAAN Bend OR
Neerali S. Bernard, DO Philadelphia PA
Neil A. Busis, MD, FAAN Pittsburgh PA
Bruce M. Cotugno, MD Venetai PA
David S. Tabby, DO, FAAN Merion Station PA
Elaine C. Jones, MD, FAAN Providence RI
Norman Bettle, MD St. Helena Island SC
David J. Walsh, MD, FAAN Mount Pleasant SC
K.A. Kelts, MD, PhD, FAAN Rapid City SD
David W. Brandes, MD, FAAN Sweetwater TN
Timothy D. Thomas, MD Knoxville TN
Sara G. Austin, MD, FAAN Austin TX
Jose E. Cavazos, MD, PhD, FAAN San Antonio TX
Wesley D. Dennis, MD Pantego TX
David A. Evans, MBA Dallas TX
Timea M. Hodics, MD Dallas TX
Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN San Antonio TX
Hector M. Maldonado, MD, PhD, FAAN El Paso TX
Eddie L. Patton, MD, MS Pearland TX
Jeremy D. Slater, MD Houston TX
Nancy N. Futrell, MD, FAAN Salt Lake City UT
Jennifer J. Majersik, MD Salt Lake City UT
Awais Riaz, MD, PhD, FAAN Salt Lake City UT
Mary Bowles, MD Norfolk VA
Farrah Daly, MD Arlington VA
Gary J. Harpold, MD, FAAN Roanoke VA
David G. Moore, MD McLean VA
Julio Ventura, MD Richmond VA
Nassim Zecavati, MD Arlington VA
Joseph W. McSherry, MD, PhD Richmond VT
Robert E. Shapiro, MD, PhD, FAAN Charlotte VT
Maureen Callaghan, MD Olympia WA
Alexander Krob, MD La Center WA
Maciej M. Mrugala, MD Seattle WA
Conrad C. Nievera, Jr., MD Spokane WA
Donn Dexter, MD, FAAN Eau Claire WI
Mary Payne, MD Huntington WV
Allen L. Gee, MD, PhD, FAAN Cody WY