US Senate Introduces AAN-initiated Epilepsy Center Legislation

August 13, 2007


Senators Patty Murray (D-WA) and Larry Craig (R-ID) recently announced the introduction of S.2004, the U.S. Senate's Epilepsy Centers of Excellence Bill. This bill closely matches H.R. 2818, which was unveiled in June by US Representative Ed Perlmutter (CO-D), and will create six epilepsy centers of excellence that will be overseen by the VA Director of Neurology. The AAN has been actively involved in these issues thanks to its highly successful 2007 Neurology on the Hill event.

According to Senate Veterans' Affairs Committee chair Sen. Daniel Akaka (D-HI), S.2004 will be heard in October. Both Murray and Craig serve on the committee: Craig is the committee's highest-ranking Republican member. Murray's Senate office has posted a press release for S.2004.

For more information, contact the AAN's Legislative Counsel in Washington, DC, Mike Amery, at