New Specialty Codes Established by CMS for Sleep, Sports Medicine

May 22, 2012


The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) established new physician specialty codes for Sleep Medicine and Sports Medicine effective April 2, 2012.  Physicians are allowed to self–designate a primary and a secondary specialty code when enrolling in Medicare and then include the codes on claims submissions.

Specialty Codes

Neurology 13
Sleep Medicine (new) C0
Sports Medicine (new) 23

Specialty codes are used by Medicare and other payers for statistical and tracking purposes, for example to define a "peer group." Physicians can self–designate a specialty when enrolling in Medicare and then use the specialty code on submitted claims. 

Click here to read more and to see a complete listing of the specialty codes.