November 1 is the Deadline to Apply for a 2012 AAN Scientific Award

October 31, 2011


November 1 is the deadline to apply for a 2012 AAN Scientific Award and the varying deadlines to apply for Non-Scientific awards—are quickly approaching. Awards will be presented at the 64th AAN Annual Meeting in New Orleans and are intended to acknowledge significant achievements in neurology, from clinical research to creative writing, and from earliest studies through lifetime accomplishments. Awards may include financial rewards, special presentation opportunities, and/or transportation to the AAN Annual Meeting. Many awards offer the opportunity for recipients to present their research at a scientific session held during the Annual Meeting.

Learn more and apply today!

Scientific Awards—Application Deadline: November 1, 2011

  • AAN Alliance Awards: Founders and S. Weir Mitchell
  • Dreifuss-Penry Epilepsy Award
  • John Dystel Prize for Multiple Sclerosis Research
  • Sheila Essey Award: An Award for ALS Research
  • Norman Geschwind Prize in Behavioral Neurology
  • Lawrence C. McHenry Award: An Award for the History of Neurology
  • Medical Student Essay Awards:
    • G. Milton Shy Award in Clinical Neurology
    • Saul R. Korey Award in Experimental Neurology
    • Roland P. Mackay Award in Historical Aspects
    • Extended Neuroscience Award
  • Movement Disorders Research Award
  • Neuroscience Research Prize
  • Neuroendocrine Research Award
  • Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership Prize
  • Mitchell B. Max Award for Neuropathic Pain
  • Potamkin Prize for Research in Pick's, Alzheimer's, and Related Diseases
  • Research Award in Geriatric Neurology
  • The Bruce S. Schoenberg International Award in Neuroepidemiology
  • Sleep Science Award
  • Jon Stolk Award in Movement Disorders for Young Investigators
  • Harold Wolff-John Graham Award: An Award for Headache/Facial Pain Research
  • Wayne A. Hening Sleep Award for Young Investigators

Non-scientific Awards—Application deadlines vary

  • NEW! Patient Safety Award—Deadline: November 1, 2011
  • Resident Scholarship to the Annual Meeting—Deadline: November 1, 2011
  • Program Directors Recognition Award—Deadline: November 1, 2011
  • International Scholarship Award—Deadline: November 1, 2011
  • Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Patient Advocate of the Year Award—Deadline: November 30, 2011
  • AAN Award for Creative Expression of Human Values in Neurology—Deadline: December 1, 2011
  • Minority Scholars Program—Deadline: December 1, 2011
  • H. Richard Tyler Award—Deadline: December 1, 2011
  • 2013 A.B. Baker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Neurologic Education—Deadline: January 31, 2012